Ashgrove Founders acknowledged with Tasmanian Dairy Service Award

We’re thrilled to announce that Dairy Tasmania has awarded Ashgrove Cheese and Ashgrove Farm founders John Bennett (AM) and Michael Bennett the 2022 Tasmanian Dairy Service Award.

The award recognises the extensive contribution to the industry and the impact that contribution has had. It is not awarded often and it truly recognises distinguished service and impact on the Tasmanian Dairy Industry.

Ashgrove Cheese was started by John and Michael, with the original factory built in 1994. Their aim was to gain independence from low commodity prices by adding extra value to their milk.

"Since then, we have all witnessed Ashgrove develop into one of the strongest and most successful Dairy Farming Family businesses in Australia. Their pasture-to-plate philosophy not only differentiates Ashgrove, but it helps to tell the Tasmanian dairy story.

We often talk about the need to promote our great industry and to tell our story better. Ashgrove does this, for their business, but also for the wider industry. From their Happy Cow TV ads to the educational space in the factory, Ashgrove has helped the wider community understand dairying in Tasmania and value Tasmanian dairy products." — Dairy Tas

The Dairy Service Award recognises outstanding contributions and service within the dairy industry. John and Michael now join Rhys Palmer (2013), Bob Bush (2018), and the late Peter Tyson (2019) as recipients of this prestigious award.

The winners of the 2022 Tasmanian Dairy Awards, hosted by DairyTas and TIA, were announced at a special lunch held on 24 March 2022, alongside the final in-person Focus Farm Open Day.

Read more